The Death of Murat Idrissi

Wednesday, 13 March 2019, 1:46 | Fiction | Comments Off on The Death of Murat Idrissi | 1880 Views

Author : Tommy Wieringa and Sam Garrett
Detail : “Two venturesome girls on a journey through the land of their fathers and mothers. A wrong flip. a foul call.

They had no plan, after they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European girls wouldn’t be on the market. So, once the agile Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his supply. He extracts them from a decent area, solely to guide them inexorably into a good tighter one: and from this so much darker area there’s no exit.

Their tale of confinement and escape is as recent because the landscapes and cultures thus vividly represented during this story of wherever Europe and continent return nighest to meeting, albeit they ne’er quite bit.

The Death of Murat Idrissi :

Fiction

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - Scribe Us
Pages - 112
ISBN - 9781950354368


Download Read Now


Detail - Longlisted for the Booker International. Two women on a journey through the land of their fathers and mothers. A wrong turn. A bad decision. They had no idea, when they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European women would not be available. So, when the spry Saleh presents himself as their guide and savior, they embrace his offer. He extracts them from a tight space, only to lead them inexorably into an even tighter one: and from this far darker space there is no exit. Their tale of confinement and escape is as old as the landscapes and cultures so vividly depicted in this story of where Europe and Africa come closest to meeting, even if they never quite touch.

The Death of Murat Idrissi :

Fiction

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - Scribe Publications
Pages - 112
ISBN - 1925693333


Download Read Now


Detail - Two venturesome women on a journey through the land of their fathers and mothers. A wrong turn. A bad decision. They had no idea, when they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European women would not be available. So, when the spry Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his offer. He extracts them from a tight space, only to lead them inexorably into an even tighter one: and from this far darker space there is no exit. Their tale of confinement and escape is as old as the landscapes and cultures so vividly depicted in this story of where Europe and Africa come closest to meeting, even if they never quite touch.

The Death of Murat Idrissi :

Adult children of immigrants

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 112
ISBN - 9781911344896


Download Read Now


Detail - They had no idea, when they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European women would not be available. So, when the spry Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his offer. He extracts them from a tight space, only to lead them inexorably into an even tighter one.

The Death of Murat Idrissi :

Adult children of immigrants

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 112
ISBN - 9781911344889


Download Read Now


Detail - They had no idea, when they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European women would not be available. So, when the spry Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his offer. He extracts them from a tight space, only to lead them inexorably into an even tighter one.

A Beautiful Young Wife :

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 128
ISBN - 9781911344476


Download Read Now


Detail -

These Are the Names :

Fiction

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - Melville House
Pages - 192
ISBN - 1612195660


Download Read Now


Detail - A moody, atmospheric literary thriller and “a timeless tale of migration” (The Guardian), from one of Europe’s biggest-selling authors Despite its Biblical title—which comes from the opening lines of the Book of Exodus—award-winning novelist Tommy Wieringa has crafted perhaps his most timely book yet, as he traces two stories doomed to collide. In one, we follow a group of starving, near-feral Eurasian refugees on a harrowing quest for survival; in the other, we follow Pontus Beg, a policeman from a small border town on the steppe, as he investigates the death of a rabbi, one of the town’s two remaining Jews. What follows is a gripping saga in which the two stories race toward each other, and Beg will be shaken to his core by what each one reveals about man’s dark nature, and the possibility—or impossibility—of his own redemption. A virtual parable for our times, These Are the Names offers a suspenseful reading of a crisis that continues to dominate headlines, and simultaneously explores the enduring questions of faith, identity, and what it means to be “home.”

At Dusk :

Fiction

Author - Hwang Sok-yong
Publisher - Scribe Us
Pages - 192
ISBN - 9781947534667


Download Read Now


Detail - Facing a corruption investigation, and in the twilight of his life, a wealthy man begins to re-examine all.

Jokes for the Gunmen :

Fiction

Author - Mazen Maarouf
Publisher - Granta Books
Pages - 233
ISBN - 1846276691


Download Read Now


Detail - LONGLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2019 A brilliant collection of fictions in the vein of Roald Dahl, Etgar Keret and Amy Hempel. These are stories of what the world looks like from a child's pure but sometimes vengeful or muddled perspective. These are stories of life in a war zone, life peppered by surreal mistakes, tragic accidents and painful encounters. These are stories of fantasist matadors, lost limbs and perplexed voyeurs. This is a collection about sex, death and the all-important skill of making life into a joke. These are unexpected stories by a very fresh voice. These stories are unforgettable.

Love in the New Millennium :

Fiction

Author - Can Xue
Publisher - Yale University Press
Pages - 256
ISBN - 0300240481


Download Read Now


Detail - The most ambitious work of fiction by a writer widely considered the most important novelist working in China today In this darkly comic novel, a group of women inhabits a world of constant surveillance, where informants lurk in the flowerbeds and false reports fly. Conspiracies abound in a community that normalizes paranoia and suspicion. Some try to flee—whether to a mysterious gambling bordello or to ancestral homes that can only be reached underground through muddy caves, sewers, and tunnels. Others seek out the refuge of Nest County, where traditional Chinese herbal medicines can reshape or psychologically transport the self. Each life is circumscribed by buried secrets and transcendent delusions. Can Xue's masterful love stories for the new millennium trace love's many guises—satirical, tragic, transient, lasting, nebulous, and fulfilling—against a kaleidoscopic backdrop drawn from East and West of commerce and industry, fraud and exploitation, sex and romance.

The Blessed Rita :

Fathers and sons

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 256
ISBN - 9781925713268


Download Read Now


Detail - 'He had seen more and more people from the East in recent years. Mostly gypsies, people said. Bulgarians, Romanians - you could tell by the plates on the vans and the trailers. The Poles had been around for some time already. Burglaries, thefts. The blessings of the new Europe.' Paul Kr zen lives with his father in an old farmhouse, not far from the German border. Where once his father took care of him, now he takes care of his father. It has been a long time since his beautiful, worldly-wise mother left them for the arms of a Russian pilot, never once looking back. Paul's world is changing- his small Dutch village is now home to Chinese restaurateurs, Polish plumbers, and Russian thugs. Saint Rita, the patron saint of lost causes, watches over Paul and his best friend Hedwiges, two misfits at odds with the modern world, while Paul takes comfort in his own Blessed Rita, a prostitute from Quezon. But even she cannot protect them from the tragedy that is about to unfold. In this sharply observed, darkly funny novel, Wieringa shines a light on people struggling at the margins of a changing world. The Blessed Rita is an affecting tribute to those left behind and an ode to those wanting to transcend themselves and their heritage. 'This novel full of autobiographic humus sizzles with ambition ... In The Blessed Rita, Wieringa quietly revels in scenes struck sweetly with an exuberance of colour, deposited with careless writer's joy and grimly comedic tones. He writes like a fearless showboat in a bar, tethering his listeners to his every word ... From these miniscule, damaged lives, Tommy extracts a very sensual book, drunk with language and written with a stylistic precision you will envy.' FOUR STARS -De Volkskrant 'It is his best book, his master hand has developed itself again. The depth is deeper, the views stretch farther. His style approaches perfection, or surpasses it. His use of figurative language is economical. It's used only when it's dead-on.' FIVE STARS -Algemeen Dagblad 'Critical, dark, and profound fiction.' -Le Monde Praise for Tommy Wieringa- 'The best contemporary novels are a quest made out of literary and moral ambition. Those who have successfully pursued this Holy Grail in recent times are Bolano with his The Savage Detectives, Sebald in Austerlitz, Coetzee with Disgrace and the late Philip Roth. From now on, to that august list must be added the name of Tommy Wieringa.' -Le Figaro

Four Soldiers :

Friendship

Author - Hubert Mingarelli
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 155
ISBN - 9781846276514


Download Read Now


Detail - Hubert Mingarelli's simple, powerful, and moving stories of men in combat have established him as one of the most exciting new voices in international fiction. In Four Soldiers he tells the story of four young soldiers in 1919, members of the Red Army during the Russian civil war. It is set in the harsh dead of winter, just as the soldiers set up camp in a forest in Galicia near the Romanian front line. Due to a lull in fighting, their days are taken up with the mundane tasks of trying to scratch together what food and comforts they can find, all the time while talking, smoking, and waiting. Waiting specifically for spring to come. Waiting for their battalion to move on. Waiting for the inevitable resumption of violence.

There There : A novel

Fiction

Author - Tommy Orange
Publisher - McClelland & Stewart
Pages - 256
ISBN - 077107302X


Download Read Now


Detail - Here is a voice we have never heard--a voice full of poetry and rage, exploding onto the page with stunning urgency and force. Here is a story of several people, each of whom has private reasons for travelling to the Big Oakland Powwow. Jacquie Red Feather is newly sober and trying to make it back to the family she left behind in shame. Dene Oxendene is pulling his life together after his uncle's death and has come to work at the powwow to honour his uncle's memory. Opal Viola Victoria Bear Shield has come to watch her nephew Orvil Red Feather, who has taught himself traditional Indian dance through YouTube videos and has come to the powwow to dance in public for the very first time. There will be glorious communion, and a spectacle of sacred tradition and pageantry. And there will be sacrifice, and heroism, and unspeakable loss. Fierce, angry, funny, heartbreaking, There There is a relentlessly paced multi-generational story about violence and recovery, memory and identity, and the beauty and despair woven into the history of a nation and its people. An unforgettable debut.

Leave a reply