The Death of Murat Idrissi

Wednesday, 13 March 2019, 1:46 | Fiction | Comments Off on The Death of Murat Idrissi | 454 Views

Author : Tommy Wieringa and Sam Garrett
Detail : “Two venturesome girls on a journey through the land of their fathers and mothers. A wrong flip. a foul call.

They had no plan, after they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European girls wouldn’t be on the market. So, once the agile Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his supply. He extracts them from a decent area, solely to guide them inexorably into a good tighter one: and from this so much darker area there’s no exit.

Their tale of confinement and escape is as recent because the landscapes and cultures thus vividly represented during this story of wherever Europe and continent return nighest to meeting, albeit they ne’er quite bit.

The Death of Murat Idrissi :

Fiction

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - Scribe Publications
Pages - 112
ISBN - 1925693333


Download Read Now


Detail - Two venturesome women on a journey through the land of their fathers and mothers. A wrong turn. A bad decision. They had no idea, when they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European women would not be available. So, when the spry Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his offer. He extracts them from a tight space, only to lead them inexorably into an even tighter one: and from this far darker space there is no exit. Their tale of confinement and escape is as old as the landscapes and cultures so vividly depicted in this story of where Europe and Africa come closest to meeting, even if they never quite touch.

Death of Murat Idrissi The :

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 112
ISBN - 9781925713305


Download Read Now


Detail - They had no idea, when they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European women would not be available. So, when the spry Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his offer. He extracts them from a tight space, only to lead them inexorably into an even tighter one- and from this far darker space there is no exit.Their tale of confinement and escape is as old as the landscapes and cultures so vividly depicted in this story of where Europe and Africa come closest to meeting, even if they never quite touch.

A Beautiful Young Wife :

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 128
ISBN - 9781911344476


Download Read Now


Detail -

The Wall :

Fiction

Author - John Lanchester
Publisher - Faber & Faber
Pages - 320
ISBN - 0571298710


Download Read Now


Detail - Kavanagh begins his life patrolling the Wall. If he's lucky, if nothing goes wrong, he only has two years of this, 729 more nights. The best thing that can happen is that he survives and gets off the Wall and never has to spend another day of his life anywhere near it. He longs for this to be over; longs to be somewhere else. He will soon find out what Defenders do and who the Others are. Along with the rest of his squad, he will endure cold and fear day after day, night after night. But somewhere, in the dark cave of his mind, he thinks: wouldn't it be interesting if something did happen, if they came, if you had to fight for your life? John Lanchester's thrilling, hypnotic new novel is about why the young are right to hate the old. It's about a broken world you will recognise as your own-and about what might be found when all is lost.

These Are the Names :

Fiction

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 240
ISBN - 9781612195650


Download Read Now


Detail - A moody, atmospheric literary thriller and "a timeless tale of migration" (The Guardian), from one of Europe's biggest-selling authors Despite its Biblical title--which comes from the opening lines of the Book of Exodus--award-winning novelist Tommy Wieringa has crafted perhaps his most timely book yet, as he traces two stories doomed to collide. In one, we follow a group of starving, near-feral Eurasian refugees on a harrowing quest for survival; in the other, we follow Pontus Beg, a policeman from a small border town on the steppe, as he investigates the death of a rabbi, one of the town's two remaining Jews. What follows is a gripping saga in which the two stories race toward each other, and Beg will be shaken to his core by what each one reveals about man's dark nature, and the possibility--or impossibility--of his own redemption. A virtual parable for our times, These Are the Names offers a suspenseful reading of a crisis that continues to dominate headlines, and simultaneously explores the enduring questions of faith, identity, and what it means to be "home."

Trout, Belly Up :

Fiction

Author - Rodrigo Fuentes
Publisher - Charco Press
Pages - 97
ISBN - 1916465684


Download Read Now


Detail - In this highly original collection of interconnected short stories, the Guatemalan countryside is ever-present, a place of timeless peace yet also riven by sudden violence. The stories provide glimpses into the life of Don Henrik, a good man struck time and again by misfortune, as he confronts the crude realities of farming life. Over the course of these episodes we meet merciless entrepreneurs, hitmen, drug dealers and fallen angels, all wanting their piece of the pie. Told with precision and a stark beauty, in a style that recalls Hemingway, Trout, Belly Up is a unique ensemble of beguiling, disturbing stories set in the heart of the rural landscape in a country where violence is never far from the surface.

Murder by Matchlight :

Fiction

Author - E.C.R. Lorac
Publisher - Courier Dover Publications
Pages - 160
ISBN - 0486255778


Download Read Now


Detail - On a damp evening in wartime London, a body falls from a bridge in Regent's Park — setting the stage for this atmospheric mystery's formidable investigator and a colorful cast of suspects.

At Dusk :

Fiction

Author - Hwang Sok-Yong
Publisher - Scribe Us
Pages - 192
ISBN - 9781947534667


Download Read Now


Detail - Facing a corruption investigation, and in the twilight of his life, a wealthy man begins to re-examine all.

Jokes for the Gunmen :

Fiction

Author - Mazen Maarouf
Publisher - Granta Books
Pages - 233
ISBN - 1846276691


Download Read Now


Detail - LONGLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2019 A brilliant collection of fictions in the vein of Roald Dahl, Etgar Keret and Amy Hempel. These are stories of what the world looks like from a child's pure but sometimes vengeful or muddled perspective. These are stories of life in a war zone, life peppered by surreal mistakes, tragic accidents and painful encounters. These are stories of fantasist matadors, lost limbs and perplexed voyeurs. This is a collection about sex, death and the all-important skill of making life into a joke. These are unexpected stories by a very fresh voice. These stories are unforgettable.

Idaho :

Fiction

Author - Emily Ruskovich
Publisher - Random House
Pages - 320
ISBN - 1448192552


Download Read Now


Detail - Longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize One hot August day a family drives to a mountain clearing to collect birch wood. Jenny, the mother, is in charge of lopping any small limbs off the logs with a hatchet. Wade, the father, does the stacking. The two daughters, June and May, aged nine and six, drink lemonade, swat away horseflies, bicker, sing snatches of songs as they while away the time. But then something unimaginably shocking happens, an act so extreme it will scatter the family in every different direction.

Among the Lost :

Fiction

Author - Emiliano Monge
Publisher - Scribe Us
Pages - 368
ISBN - 9781947534797


Download Read Now


Detail - In the desolate wastelands between the sierra and the jungle, under an all-seeing, unforgiving sun, a single day unfolds as relentlessly as those that have gone before. People are trafficked and brutalised, illegal migrants are cheated of their money, their dreams, their very names, even as countless others scrabble to cross the border, trying to reach a land they call El Paraíso. In this grim inferno, a fierce love has blossomed -- one that was born in pain and cruelty, and one that will live or die on this day. Estela and Epitafio too were trafficked, they grew together in the brutal orphanage, fell in love, but were ripped apart. They have played an ugly role in the very system that abused them, and done the bidding of the brutal old priest for too long. They have traded in migrants, put children to work as slaves, hacked off limbs and lives without a thought, though they have never forgotten the memory of their own shackles. Like the immigrants whose hopes they extinguish, they long to be free; free to be together and alone. Here in an unnamed land that could be a Mexico reimagined by Breughel and Dante, on the border between purgatory and inferno, where Paradise is the mouth of hell and cruelty the only currency, lives are spent, bartered and indentured for it. Must all be bankrupt among the lost?

Joe Speedboat :

Fiction

Author - Tommy Wieringa
Publisher - Scribe Publications
Pages - 336
ISBN - 192530700X


Download Read Now


Detail - When Frankie Hermans emerges from a coma after 200 days, he knows his life is never going to be the same again. For a start, he can’t talk, he can’t walk and it’s a struggle even to wield a pen. And then there’s Joe Speedboat — a boy who arrived in the sleepy village of Lomark like a blazing comet and who’s been stirring things up ever since. Whether setting off bombs, racing mopeds or building a bi-plane, Joe has the touch of a magician and the spirit of a daredevil. He also sees a use for Frankie’s good right arm beyond writing: as a champion arm-wrestler Frankie will be strong enough to impress his friends, and maybe even win the favour of the gorgeous, golden-haired girl who has them all in a spin. Full of vitality, verve and chutzpah, Joe Speedboat tells the fast-paced story of an unlikely friendship between two boys, and of their lightning dash towards adulthood. PRAISE FOR TOMMY WIERINGA ‘Joe Speedboat is never just another would-be inspirational read about overcoming adversity … Expertly translated from the Dutch by Sam Garrett, Tommy Wieringa's novel offers a rewarding journey into the unfamiliar. It is also witty, thoughtful and surprisingly tender.’ The Independent (UK) ‘[A] brilliant coming-of-age story with an outlandish twist … There are more coming-of-age novels than dikes in Holland, but this wonderfully weird novel is not one to miss.’ Publishers Weekly

Leave a reply