The Memory Police

Friday, 7 June 2019, 21:11 | Fiction, Thrillers | Comments Off on The Memory Police | 1836 Views

Author : Yoko Ogawa and Stephen Snyder
Detail : “Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the individuals on the island, a disappeared factor now not has any which means. It are often burned within the garden, thrown within the stream or two-handed over to the Memory Police. in time, the island forgets it ever existed.

When a young author discovers that her editor is at risk of being withdrawn by the Memory Police, she urgently needs to save lots of him. for a few reason, he does not forget, and it’s turning into more and more troublesome for him to cover his recollections. UN agency is aware of what is going to vanish next?

The Memory Police could be a stunning, haunting and provocative fable regarding the facility of memory and also the trauma of loss, from one amongst Japan’s greatest writers.

For readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, Gabriel Daniel Fahrenheit 451 and Nineteen lxxxiv.”

The Memory Police :

Fiction

Author - Yoko Ogawa
Publisher - Pantheon
Pages - 288
ISBN - 1101870605


Download Read Now


Detail - "A deft and dark Orwellian novel about the terrors of state surveillance, from the acclaimed author of The Housekeeper and the Professor On an unnamed island off an unnamed coast, things are disappearing. First, animals and flowers. Then objects--ribbons, bells, photographs. Then, body parts. Most of the island's inhabitants fail to notice these changes, while those few imbued with the power to recall the lost objects live in fear of the mysterious 'memory police,' who are committed to ensuring that the disappeared remain forgotten. When a young novelist realizes that more than her career is in danger, she hides her editor beneath her floorboards, and together, as fear and loss close in around them, they cling to literature as the last way of preserving the past. Part allegory, part literary thriller, The Memory Police is a stunning new work from one of the most exciting contemporary authors writing in any language"

The Memory Police :

Fiction

Author - Yoko Ogawa
Publisher - Random House
Pages - 288
ISBN - 147352069X


Download Read Now


Detail - A compelling speculative mystery by one of Japan's greatest writers. Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed. When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next? The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss, from one of Japan’s greatest writers. 'One of Japan’s most acclaimed authors explores truth, state surveillance and individual autonomy. Echoes 1984, Fahrenheit 451, and 100 Years of Solitude, but it has a voice and power all its own.' Time Magazine

The Memory Police : A Novel

Fiction

Author - Yoko Ogawa
Publisher - Pantheon
Pages - 288
ISBN - 1101870613


Download Read Now


Detail - **LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD** A haunting Orwellian novel about the terrors of state surveillance, from the acclaimed author of The Housekeeper and the Professor. On an unnamed island off an unnamed coast, objects are disappearing: first hats, then ribbons, birds, roses—until things become much more serious. Most of the island's inhabitants are oblivious to these changes, while those few imbued with the power to recall the lost objects live in fear of the draconian Memory Police, who are committed to ensuring that what has disappeared remains forgotten. When a young woman who is struggling to maintain her career as a novelist discovers that her editor is in danger from the Memory Police, she concocts a plan to hide him beneath her floorboards. As fear and loss close in around them, they cling to her writing as the last way of preserving the past. A surreal, provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss, The Memory Police is a stunning new work from one of the most exciting contemporary authors writing in any language.

The Diving Pool :

Fiction

Author - Yoko Ogawa
Publisher - Random House
Pages - 176
ISBN - 1409076180


Download Read Now


Detail - Beautiful, twisted and brilliant - discover Yoko Ogawa. A lonely teenage girl falls in love with her foster-brother as she watches him leap from a high diving board into a pool - sparking an unspoken infatuation that draws out darker possibilities. A young woman records the daily moods of her pregnant sister in a diary, but rather than a story of growth the diary reveals a more sinister tale of greed and repulsion. Driven by nostalgia, a woman visits her old college dormitory on the outskirts of Tokyo. There she finds an isolated world shadowed by decay, haunted by absent students and the disturbing figure of the crippled caretaker.

Will and Testament :

Fiction

Author - Vigdis Hjorth
Publisher - Verso Fiction
Pages - 336
ISBN - 178873310X


Download Read Now


Detail - A controversial bestseller from one of Norway's most intelligent and highly regarded novelists. This emotionally searing novel is at once a wrenching look at a family fractured and a meditation on the nature of trauma and memory..

The Memory Illusion : Remembering, Forgetting and the Science of False Memory

Author - Julia Shaw
Publisher - Anchor Canada
Pages - 304
ISBN - 9780385685313


Download Read Now


Detail - Forensic psychologist and memory expert Dr. Julia Shaw reveals why we are all unreliable narrators of our own life stories. Think you have a good memory? Think again. Memories are our most cherished possessions. We rely on them every day of our lives. They make us who we are. And yet the truth is they are far from being the accurate record of the past we like to think they are. In The Memory Illusion, forensic psychologist and memory expert Dr. Julia Shaw uses the latest research to show the astonishing variety of ways in which our brains can indeed be led astray. She shows why we can sometimes misappropriate other people's memories, subsequently believing them to be our own. She explains how police officers can imprison an innocent man for life on the basis of 300 denials and just one confession. She demonstrates the way radically false memories can be deliberately implanted, leading people to believe that they brutally murdered a loved one, or were abducted by aliens. And she reveals how, in spite of all this, we can improve our memory through simple awareness of its fallibility. Fascinating and unnerving in equal measure, The Memory Illusion offers a unique insight into the human brain, challenging you to question how much you can ever truly know about yourself.

Unconscious Memory :

Fiction

Author - Samuel Butler
Publisher - BoD – Books on Demand
Pages - 180
ISBN - 3734089212


Download Read Now


Detail - Reproduction of the original: Unconscious Memory by Samuel Butler

The Last Children of Tokyo :

Ethics

Author - Yoko Tawada
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 144
ISBN - 9781846276705


Download Read Now


Detail - In a near-future when the old live almost-forever and the young are swept away by strange new ailments, an elderly man fights to keep his beloved great-grandson alive.

Temporary :

Fiction

Author - Hilary Leichter
Publisher - Emily Books
Pages - 208
ISBN - 9781566895668


Download Read Now


Detail - Eighteen boyfriends, twenty-three jobs, and one ghost who occasionally pops in to give advice: Temporary casts a hilarious and tender eye toward the struggle for happiness under late capitalism.

Automatic Eve :

Fiction

Author - Rokuro Inui
Publisher - VIZ Media LLC
Pages - 320
ISBN - 1974712982


Download Read Now


Detail - A mighty shogunate ruling the land from Tempu Castle. An imperial line with strict female succession. Caught between these two immense powers, the sprawling city of Tempu is home to many wonders—not least a superhuman technological achievement in the form of a beautiful automaton known as Eve. When a secret that threatens to shake the imperial line intersects with the mystery of Eve’s creation, events are set in motion that soon race toward a shocking conclusion. A new, astonishingly inventive science fantasy masterpiece of historic proportions. -- VIZ Media

The Bone Mother :

Fiction

Author - David Demchuk
Publisher - ChiZine Publications
Pages - 242
ISBN - 1771484225


Download Read Now


Detail - Finalist for the Shirley Jackson Award: “Beautiful and brutal nightmares . . . made all the more terrifying by the history in which they’re grounded.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review Three neighboring villages on the Ukrainian/Romanian border are the final refuge for the last of the mythical creatures of Eastern Europe. Now, on the eve of the war that may eradicate their kind—and with the ruthless Night Police descending upon their sanctuary—they tell their stories and confront their destinies. The Rusalka, the beautiful, vengeful water spirit who lives in lakes and ponds and lures men and children to their deaths. The Vovkulaka, who changes from her human form into that of a wolf and hides with her kind deep in the densest forests. The Strigoi, a revenant who feasts on blood and twists the minds of those who love, serve, and shelter him. The Drevniye, an apparition that impersonates its victim and draws him into a web of evil in order to free itself. And the Bone Mother, a skeletal crone with iron teeth who lurks in her house in the heart of the woods, and cooks and eats those who fail her vexing challenges. Eerie and unsettling like the best fairy tales, these incisor-sharp portraits of ghosts, witches, sirens, and seers—and the mortals who live at their side and in their thrall—will chill your marrow and tear at your heart. “A fable filled with mythical creatures ranging from werewolves to witches . . . set, in part, among the villages of eastern Europe on the eve of the Second World War.” —The Globe and Mail (Toronto) “Extraordinary . . . A dark and shining mosaic of a story with unforgettable imagery and elegant, evocative prose.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review Longlisted for the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize Winner of the 2018 Sunburst Award Longlisted for the 2018 Toronto Book Awards

The Incompletes :

Fiction

Author - Sergio Chejfec
Publisher - no defined
Pages - 157
ISBN - 9781948830034


Download Read Now


Detail - A world-spanning intellectual thriller in the vein of Sebald

comment closed