The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Saturday, 18 August 2018, 6:07 | Fiction, History | 0 Comment | 489 Views


Author : Heather Morris
Detail:For readers of Schindler’s List, the person United Nations agency bust into stockade and therefore the Boy within the patterned Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the highest of humanity within the terribly worst of circumstances.

I tattooed variety on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the duty of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival – scratching numbers into his fellow victims’ arms in ink to form what would become one in all the foremost potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, afraid and shaking, was a miss. For Lale – a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a small amount of a chancer – it absolutely was love initially sight. And he make up my mind not solely to survive himself, however to make sure this lady, Gita, did, too.

So begins one in all the foremost life-affirming, courageous, memorable and human stories of the Holocaust: the story of the tattooist of stockade.

‘Extraordinary – moving, try and rising . . . i like to recommend it unreservedly’ Greame Simsion

‘A moving and ultimately rising story of affection, loyalties and relationship amidst the horrors of war . . . it is a triumph.’ Jill Mansell

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
Pages - 368
ISBN - 1785763660


Download Read Now


Detail - For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : A Novel

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - HarperCollins
Pages - 288
ISBN - 0062797166


Download Read Now


Detail - The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive. One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her. A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable Sunday Times bestseller

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - Ullstein Buchverlage
Pages - 368
ISBN - 1785763660


Download Read Now


Detail - For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

The Man Who Broke Into Auschwitz : A True Story of World War II

Biography & Autobiography

Author - Denis Avey
Publisher - Da Capo Press
Pages - 312
ISBN - 0306822113


Download Read Now


Detail - The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz is the extraordinary true story of a British soldier who marched willingly into the concentration camp, Buna-Monowitz, known as Auschwitz III. In the summer of 1944, Denis Avey was being held in a British POW labour camp, E715, near Auschwitz III. He had heard of the brutality meted out to the prisoners there and he was determined to witness what he could. He hatched a plan to swap places with a Jewish inmate and smuggled himself into his sector of the camp. He spent the night there on two occasions and experienced at first-hand the cruelty of a place where slave workers, had been sentenced to death through labor. Astonishingly, he survived to witness the aftermath of the Death March where thousands of prisoners were murdered by the Nazis as the Soviet Army advanced. After his own long trek right across central Europe he was repatriated to Britain. For decades he couldn't bring himself to revisit the past that haunted his dreams, but now Denis Avey feels able to tell the full story—a tale as gripping as it is moving—which offers us a unique insight into the mind of an ordinary man whose moral and physical courage are almost beyond belief.

The Librarian of Auschwitz :

Young Adult Fiction

Author - Antonio Iturbe
Publisher - Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
Pages - 400
ISBN - 1627796193


Download Read Now


Detail - Based on the experience of real-life Auschwitz prisoner Dita Kraus, this is the incredible story of a girl who risked her life to keep the magic of books alive during the Holocaust. Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious volumes the prisoners have managed to sneak past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the librarian of Auschwitz. Out of one of the darkest chapters of human history comes this extraordinary story of courage and hope. This title has Common Core connections. Godwin Books

The First Boomerang :

Fiction

Author - Paul Bryden
Publisher - ETT Imprint
Pages - 318
ISBN - 1925706486


Download Read Now


Detail - Lindsay, an Aboriginal elder, and Rob, a young white traveller meet in the Outback and make discoveries that may re-write Australia's history. Based on facts this story takes the reader on a journey through inner, personal landscapes and traditional Aboriginal country. Lindsay's challenge is to locate three sacred objects (tjurunga) that are needed to revive important ceremonies. They disappeared decades earlier and could be anywhere in the world. Through personal contacts, a website, and the help of Australia's Prime Minister he begins his journey. Why are the sacred objects so significant? Will he be able to bring them home? Rob's challenge is to find the first boomerang that came in the Dreamtime. He is inspired by Aboriginal Legends, 'cosmic timing' and reliable intuition that enables him to interpret signs which guide his search. Will he make the unprecedented discovery? Does the ancient artefact hold messages for Humanity? Time to enter the world of the First Boomerang.

Leave a reply