The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Saturday, 18 August 2018, 6:07 | Fiction, History | 0 Comment | 852 Views


Author : Heather Morris
Detail:For readers of Schindler’s List, the person United Nations agency bust into stockade and therefore the Boy within the patterned Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the highest of humanity within the terribly worst of circumstances.

I tattooed variety on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the duty of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival – scratching numbers into his fellow victims’ arms in ink to form what would become one in all the foremost potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, afraid and shaking, was a miss. For Lale – a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a small amount of a chancer – it absolutely was love initially sight. And he make up my mind not solely to survive himself, however to make sure this lady, Gita, did, too.

So begins one in all the foremost life-affirming, courageous, memorable and human stories of the Holocaust: the story of the tattooist of stockade.

‘Extraordinary – moving, try and rising . . . i like to recommend it unreservedly’ Greame Simsion

‘A moving and ultimately rising story of affection, loyalties and relationship amidst the horrors of war . . . it is a triumph.’ Jill Mansell

Related

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : A Novel

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - HarperCollins
Pages - 288
ISBN - 0062797166


Download Read Now


Detail - The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive. One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her. A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz :

Fiction

Author - Heaher Morris
Publisher - PublishDrive
Pages - 134
ISBN -


Download Read Now


Detail - The incredible story of the Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist and the woman he loved. Lale Sokolov is well-dressed, a charmer, a ladies’ man. He is also a Jew. On the first transport from Slovakia to Auschwitz in 1942, Lale immediately stands out to his fellow prisoners. In the camp, he is looked up to, looked out for, and put to work in the privileged position of Tätowierer– the tattooist – to mark his fellow prisoners, forever. One of them is a young woman, Gita, who steals his heart at first glance. His life given new purpose, Lale does his best through the struggle and suffering to use his position for good. This story, full of beauty and hope, is based on years of interviews author Heather Morris conducted with real-life Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz- Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov. It is heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
Pages - 368
ISBN - 1785763660


Download Read Now


Detail - For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : A Novel

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - Harper Paperbacks
Pages - 288
ISBN - 9780062877000


Download Read Now


Detail - The #1 International Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive. One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her. A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

A Survivor's Story :

Biography & Autobiography

Author - Severin Fayerman
Publisher - Aperture Press
Pages - 108
ISBN - 9780983331070


Download Read Now


Detail - When Germany invades Poland in 1939, seventeen year old Severin Fayerman sees his world change forever. His family's factory is seized by the Germans. Inevitably, the Fayermans are arrested and sent to a forced labor camp. Severin, separated from his family, is left alone in captivity. For more than a year, he endures the horrors of Auschwitz, Buchenwald, and other concentration camps, relying on hard work and ingenuity to survive. When the war ends so does his nightmare, but his journey has only just begun. A Survivor's Story is the inspirational memoir of Severin Fayerman, Holocaust survivor and the founder of Baldwin Hardware. His journey from Poland to the United States, from young boy to successful businessman, proves that determination trumps adversity, and that goodness can shine in the darkest of places. His story is the American dream. Severin Fayerman was born in Bendzin, Poland in 1922. During World War II, he survived imprisonment and forced labor at Auschwitz and Buchenwald concentration camps. Reunited with his family after the war, he emigrated to the United States in search of a new life. In 1946 the Fayermans purchased the Baldwin Tool and Die Company in Newark, New Jersey. Together they transformed the small metal forming business into a world-class operation. Today, Baldwin Hardware is a premier manufacturer of locks and hardware, and a testament to Severin's hard work and entrepreneurial spirit.

An Unlikely Love :

Fiction

Author - Dorothy Clark
Publisher - Harlequin
Pages - 288
ISBN - 0373283075


Download Read Now


Detail - Irresistible Adversary With her focus firmly on spreading her message of temperance, Marissa Bradley is taken by surprise when she meets Grant Winston. Still in mourning for her brother, whose tragic death due to strong drink drives her to speak out on the subject, Marissa cannot think of romance. Yet Grant's charm draws her in. Intrigued by the pensive young woman, Grant determines he must learn more about her. But he never expected to find her protesting his family's vineyard! When he learns her reasons, he's sympathetic, but Grant can't walk away from the business that supports his family and provides his mother a home. How can he choose between his and Marissa's growing love and his family's very livelihood?

Leave a reply