The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Saturday, 18 August 2018, 6:07 | Fiction, History | 0 Comment | 306 Views


Author : Heather Morris
Detail:For readers of Schindler’s List, the person United Nations agency bust into stockade and therefore the Boy within the patterned Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the highest of humanity within the terribly worst of circumstances.

I tattooed variety on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the duty of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival – scratching numbers into his fellow victims’ arms in ink to form what would become one in all the foremost potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, afraid and shaking, was a miss. For Lale – a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a small amount of a chancer – it absolutely was love initially sight. And he make up my mind not solely to survive himself, however to make sure this lady, Gita, did, too.

So begins one in all the foremost life-affirming, courageous, memorable and human stories of the Holocaust: the story of the tattooist of stockade.

‘Extraordinary – moving, try and rising . . . i like to recommend it unreservedly’ Greame Simsion

‘A moving and ultimately rising story of affection, loyalties and relationship amidst the horrors of war . . . it is a triumph.’ Jill Mansell

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
Pages - 368
ISBN - 1785763660


Download Read Now


Detail - For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

The Tattooist of Auschwitz :

Biographical fiction

Author - Heather Morris (Screenwriter)
Publisher -
Pages - 304
ISBN - 9781760403171


Download Read Now


Detail - The incredible story of the Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist and the woman he loved. Lale Sokolov is well-dressed, a charmer, a ladies' man. He is also a Jew. On the first transport of men from Slovakia to Auschwitz in 1942, Lale immediately stands out to his fellow prisoners. In the camp, he is looked up to, looked out for, and put to work in the privileged position of TStowierer the tattooist to mark his fellow prisoners, forever. One of them is a young woman, Gita who steals his heart at first glance. His life given new purpose, Lale does his best through the struggle and suffering to use his position for good. This story, full of beauty and hope, is based on years of interviews author Heather Morris conducted with real-life Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov. It is heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : A Novel

Fiction

Author - Heather Morris
Publisher - HarperCollins
Pages - 288
ISBN - 0062797166


Download Read Now


Detail - The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive. One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her. A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz :

Biographical fiction

Author - Heather Morris (Screenwriter)
Publisher -
Pages - 304
ISBN - 9781760403171


Download Read Now


Detail - The incredible story of the Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist and the woman he loved. Lale Sokolov is well-dressed, a charmer, a ladies' man. He is also a Jew. On the first transport of men from Slovakia to Auschwitz in 1942, Lale immediately stands out to his fellow prisoners. In the camp, he is looked up to, looked out for, and put to work in the privileged position of TStowierer the tattooist to mark his fellow prisoners, forever. One of them is a young woman, Gita who steals his heart at first glance. His life given new purpose, Lale does his best through the struggle and suffering to use his position for good. This story, full of beauty and hope, is based on years of interviews author Heather Morris conducted with real-life Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov. It is heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable.

The Good Doctor of Warsaw : A novel of hope in the dark, for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Fiction

Author - Elisabeth Gifford
Publisher - Atlantic Books
Pages - 196
ISBN - 1786492474


Download Read Now


Detail - 'You do not leave a sick child alone to face the dark and you do not leave a child at a time like this.' Deeply in love and about to marry, students Misha and Sophia flee a Warsaw under Nazi occupation for a chance at freedom. Forced to return to the Warsaw ghetto, they help Misha's mentor, Dr Janusz Korczak, care for the two hundred children in his orphanage. As Korczak struggles to uphold the rights of even the smallest child in the face of unimaginable conditions, he becomes a beacon of hope for the thousands who live behind the walls. As the noose tightens around the ghetto Misha and Sophia are torn from one another, forcing them to face their worst fears alone. They can only hope to find each other again one day... Meanwhile, refusing to leave the children unprotected, Korczak must confront a terrible darkness. Half a million people lived in the Warsaw ghetto. Less than one percent survived to tell their story. This novel is based on the true accounts of Misha and Sophia, and on the life of one of Poland's greatest men, Dr Janusz Korczak.

The Librarian of Auschwitz :

Young Adult Fiction

Author - Antonio Iturbe
Publisher - Thorndike Press Large Print
Pages - 638
ISBN - 9781432849290


Download Read Now


Detail - Received 4 Starred ReviewsBased on the real-life experience of Dita Kraus, imprisoned in Auschwitz by the Nazis, this is the incredible story of a fourteen-year-old girl who risked her life to keep the magic of books alive during the Holocaust. Out of one of the darkest chapters of human history comes an extraordinary story of courage and hope.

Leave a reply